Home NEWS by SERIES WTCC WTCC : 2010 Valencia - Race 2 result - Tiago Monteiro back to winning ways
WTCC : 2010 Valencia - Race 2 result - Tiago Monteiro back to winning ways E-mail
Sunday, 19 September 2010 03:00
World Touring Car Championship result of Race 2 from Valencia in Spain.

Weather/Track: Sun 26C/Dry 42C

Pos. Class. Driver Nat. Car Time Laps Gap Speed
1 3 Tiago MONTEIRO POR SEAT Leon TDI 23'29.770 13 132.95
2 6 Yvan MULLER FRA Chevrolet Cruze 23'30.489 13 0.719 132.88
3 1 Gabriele TARQUINI ITA SEAT Leon TDI 23'33.225 13 3.455 132.62
4 11 Andy PRIAULX GBR BMW 320si 23'33.555 13 3.785 132.59
5 4 Jordi GENE ESP SEAT Leon TDI 23'33.953 13 4.183 132.56
6 7 Robert HUFF GBR Chevrolet Cruze 23'34.752 13 4.982 132.48
7 17 Michel NYKJAER DEN SEAT Leon TDI 23'37.018 13 7.248 132.27
8 10 Augusto FARFUS BRA BMW 320si 23'37.595 13 7.825 132.22
9 2 Tom CORONEL NED SEAT Leon TDI 23'38.794 13 9.024 132.1
10 24 I Kristian POULSEN DEN BMW 320si 23'39.895 13 10.125 132
11 8 Alain MENU SUI Chevrolet Cruze 23'43.126 13 13.356 131.7
12 5 Norbert MICHELISZ HUN SEAT Leon TDI 23'44.996 13 15.226 131.53
13 39 I Marc CAROL ESP SEAT Leon 23'45.559 13 15.789 131.48
14 15 I Franz ENGSTLER GER BMW 320si 23'45.724 13 15.954 131.46
15 25 I Sergio HERNANDEZ ESP BMW 320si 23'48.486 13 18.716 131.21
16 21 I Mehdi BENNANI MAR BMW 320si 23'57.225 13 27.455 130.41
17 20 I Darryl O'YOUNG HKG Chevrolet Lacetti 23'58.781 13 29.011 130.27
18 72 I Yukinori TANIGUCHI JPN Chevrolet Lacetti 24'02.742 13 32.972 129.91
19 16 I Andrei ROMANOV RUS BMW 320si 24'03.406 13 33.636 129.85
Not classified
18 Fredy BARTH SUI SEAT Leon TDI 13'04.874 7 D.N.F. 128.58
Fastest laps
3 Tiago MONTEIRO SEAT Leon TDI 1'46.719 2 83.94mph 135.1kph
24 I Kristian POULSEN BMW 320si 1'47.334 5 83.46mph 134.32kph

I = Independent


Photo credit WTCC MediaPortuguese racer Tiago Montiero won an action packed Race 2 in Valencia. Monteiro came through from third on the grid to take victory ahead of Yvan Muller, who continues to lead the championship, and Gabriele Tarquini.

Michel Nykjaer topped the rookies in seventh while Kristian Poulsen notched up his second Independents’ win of the day in tenth.

From the standing start, poleman Alain Menu had a slow getaway allowing fellow countryman Fredy Barth through into the lead followed by Andy Priaulx and Monteiro into Turn 1. Monteiro made a move on the outside line to get ahead of Priaulx before Turn 2.

Menu then began battling with Priaulx and the pair touched causing Menu to spin and drop down the field while the Guernseyman kept his car on the circuit.

Muller made a great start from seventh then took the outside line through Turn 2 to emerge in fourth. Monteiro stole the lead from Barth and began pulling out a gap from the Swiss rookie.

By the end of lap one the order was Monteiro from Barth, Muller, Priaulx, Tarquini, Jordi Gené, Rob Huff, Poulsen, Michel Nykjaer and Tom Coronel.

Poulsen and Nykjær were racing side by side before Coronel took the opportunity to get ahead of Poulsen.

Muller began chasing down Barth while Tarquini and Priaulx battled behind for fourth. On lap five Tarquini found a way through and Gené capitalized by following his team-mate.

Priaulx was now down to sixth with Rob Huff’s Chevrolet on his tail.

On lap seven Fredy Barth looked in trouble as the back end of his SEAT León TDI started snaking around. Muller sneaked through before the rest of the field followed as Barth retired in the pits.

Priaulx made a move on the inside of Turn 2, kissing Gené’s rear bumper and gaining fourth position. Huff almost followed suit but the Spaniard held his position.

In the Independents’ Poulsen had another good race to finish tenth after a race long battle with Farfus and Coronel.

Heading into the last lap Monteiro led with the three title rivals, Muller, Tarquini and Priaulx, battling for second behind him.

Photo credit WTCC MediaOn the last lap Priaulx managed to get ahead of the Italian who went wide on the last corner, but then Tarquini re-took the position to claim the final spot on the podium.

The final order across the line was therefore Monteiro from Muller, Tarquini, Priaulx, Gené, Huff, and Michel Nykjaer. Farfus, Coronel and Poulsen rounded out the top ten.

Spanish newcomer Marc Carol had another good race finishing second in the Independents’ Trophy once again.

The result means Muller extends his lead in the championship to 25 points to Priaulx with Tarquini just 4 points further adrift.

Gabriele TARQUINI – winner in Race 1, 3rd in Race 2:
“It has been a great weekend for me with victory and a third. The championship is very much alive but I’m not really thinking about that. My target is always to push from the start to the last lap.”

Tiago MONTEIRO – winner in Race 2:
“It was a difficult weekend and we struggled in the heat so when the temperature rose this afternoon I was a little worried. After a good start I took the lead and then concentrated on saving my tyres. The car was definitely a lot better than in Race 1 so the team did a good job. I just had to not make any mistakes and get a good rhythm.”

Yvan MULLER – 2nd in Race 1 and Race 2:
“I am pleased with this result, absolutely, it’s 11 podiums now. In the second race I did a good start and pushed as hard as I could. I had to save the tyres for a few laps in the middle but that allowed me to push again for the last three laps.”

Rob HUFF – 3rd in Race 1:
“I’m very pleased. It was very tough out there and very hot so I really had to look after the tyres. I picked up a vibration so slowed down towards the end to make sure I got to the finish. Muller was quicker so I let him go to see if he could catch Tarquini. I did everything I could.”

Photo credit WTCC MediaFredy BARTH – Rookie winner in Race 1:
“It was a very exciting race. I was maybe a bit too cool at the start as I lost some places which I had to take back. I tried to attack Priaulx and then was attacked by Farfus. It was hard.”

Michel NYKJAER – Rookie winner in Race 2:
“We had a little problem in qualifying and needed to find some speed but I think we found it in the race. I had a fun fight with Coronel and Farfus and it is nice to be on the podium again.”

Kristian POULSEN – Independents’ winner in Race 1 and Race 2:
“It has been a really good summer for me since Zolder, so now I will try to win the last two events and see how far we can go in the Independents’ Trophy."


Four different investigations were carried out by the Stewards after the races.

Fredy Barth was given a 10 position grid penalty for his incident with Farfus in Race 1. The penalty will remain suspended until the end of the season.

Alain Menu was fined 5,000 euros for voluntarily losing positions in Race 1.

As for the two collisions involving Andy Priaulx during the second race, with Menu and Gené, they were both considered as normal race incidents.
Informing those in the know who want to know even more
Dedicated to: Rudolf Ray +++ 14 April 2002 to 7 September 2007 +++
Stelios Avgerinos +++ 23 November 1931 to 4 February 2014 +++