Home NEWS by SERIES IndyCar IRL : Twenty six cars entered for IndyCar Series season opener
IRL : Twenty six cars entered for IndyCar Series season opener E-mail
Thursday, 20 March 2008 23:06
ImageTwenty six cars entered for IndyCar Series season opener : -

Twenty-six cars are entered for the IndyCar Series 2008 season opener, the GAINSCO Auto Insurance Indy 300, at Homestead-Miami Speedway March 29, marking the first time since 2001 that the season will start with that many cars on track and the first time since 2003 that a race other than the Indianapolis 500 has featured that many starters.
The increase in car count is a result of the IndyCar Series TEAM program that was introduced last October as well as the recent unification of open wheel racing. The TEAM announcement generated a two-car program by Roth Racing. Five former Champ Car teams have entered nine cars for the season.
The IndyCar Series opened the 2001 season at Phoenix International Raceway with 27 starters. That same season CART opened the year in Mexico with 28 starters – the last time that series began a season with at least 24 starters.
The initial entry list does not list any rookies. Eligibility for the Bombardier Learjet Rookie of the Year award will be determined following a test on the oval at Homestead-Miami March 24-25 by the drivers transitioning to the IndyCar Series.

Driver Hometown Car Name Team Race Strategist
2 A.J. Foyt IV Hockley, Texas Vision Racing Vision Racing Tony George
3 Helio Castroneves Sao Paulo, Brazil Team Penske Team Penske Tim Cindric
4 Vitor Meira Brasilia, Brazil Delphi National Guard Panther Racing John Barnes
5 Oriol Servia Pals, Catalonia, Spain KV Racing Technology KV Racing Technology Mark Johnson
6 Ryan Briscoe Sydney, Australia Team Penske Team Penske Roger Penske
7 Danica Patrick Roscoe, Ill. Motorola Andretti Green Racing Kyle Moyer
8 Will Power Toowoomba, Australia Aussie Vineyard-Team Australia KV Racing Technology Jimmy Vasser
9 Scott Dixon Auckland, New Zealand Target Chip Ganassi Racing Target Chip Ganassi Racing Mike Hull
10 Dan Wheldon Emberton, England Target Chip Ganassi Racing Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi
11 Tony Kanaan Salvador, Bahia, Brazil Team 7-Eleven Andretti Green Racing George Klotz
14 Darren Manning North Yorkshire, England ABC Supply Co./AJ Foyt Racing A.J. Foyt Enterprises A.J. Foyt
15 Buddy Rice Phoenix Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Dennis Reinbold
17 Ryan Hunter-Reay Boca Raton, Fla. Rahal Letterman Racing Team Ethanol Rahal Letterman Racing Scott Roembke
18 Bruno Junquiera Belo Horizonte, Brazil Dale Coyne Racing Dale Coyne Racing TBA
19 Mario Moraes Sao Paulo, Brazil Dale Coyne Racing Dale Coyne Racing TBA
20 Ed Carpenter Indianapolis Menards/Vision Racing Vision Racing Larry Curry
23 Milka Duno Caracas, Venezuela Citgo/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Robbie Buhl
24 Jay Howard Basildon, England Roth Racing Roth Racing TBA
25 Marty Roth Toronto Roth Racing Roth Racing David Cripps
26 Marco Andretti Nazareth, Pa. NYSE Andretti Green Racing Paul Harcus
27 Hideki Mutoh Tokyo Formula Dream Andretti Green Racing Kim Green
33 Ernesto Viso Caracas, Venezuela HVM Racing HVM Racing Michael Cannon
34 Franck Perera Montpellier, France Ares/Opes Prime Conquest Racing Eric Zeto
36 Enrique Bernoldi Curitiva, Brazil Opes Prime/Sangari Conquest Racing Brandon Fry
2 Justin Wilson Northampton, England McDonalds Racing Team Newman Haas Lanigan Racing Mike Talbott
6 Graham Rahal New Albany, Ohio Hole in the Wall Camps Newman Haas Lanigan Racing Todd Malloy

Informing those in the know who want to know even more
Dedicated to: Rudolf Ray +++ 14 April 2002 to 7 September 2007 +++
Stelios Avgerinos +++ 23 November 1931 to 4 February 2014 +++