Home NEWS by SERIES GP2 GP2 : 2012 Monaco - Monte Carlo Race 2 report & result - Palmer storms tp sprint win
GP2 : 2012 Monaco - Monte Carlo Race 2 report & result - Palmer storms tp sprint win E-mail
Saturday, 26 May 2012 19:46
Article Index
GP2 : 2012 Monaco - Monte Carlo Race 2 report & result - Palmer storms tp sprint win
GP2 : 2012 Monaco - Monte Carlo Sunday post race driver comments
GP2 Series report and result of the race in Monaco - Briton Jolyon Palmer claimed his maiden championship victory with a storming dominant drive in this afternoon's Sprint Race.

The son of former Formula 1 driver Dr. Jonathan Charles Palmer jumped the front row starters as the lights went out to lead all the way to the chequered flag ahead of countryman Max Chilton and Dutchman Giedo van der Garde.

The win was set up at the start when the Englishman got a stunning launch to blast past pole sitter Stephane Richelmi from P3 and into a lead that would not be threatened again.

The Monegasque driver was forced to give way before Ste. Devote but left fellow front row starter James Calado nowhere to go but into the back of the Trident car, putting Richelmi out on the spot and damaging his own front wing into the bargain.

There was more immediate drama to come when yesterday's Feature Race winner Johnny Cecotto lost rear end control and spun at Casino Square causing mayhem for the remainder of the field as he tagged the slow starting Davide Valsecchi, while Felipe Nasr rode over the top of Victor Guerin in what looked like a car mating ritual causing the other drivers around to come together.

There was no choice but to call out the safety car, and the field was ten cars lighter next time by the pits. The marshals quickly removed the debris and the race went live again on lap four, with race leader Palmer making a smooth restart to leave Calado behind, with Chilton and van der Garde on his tail.

Calado's damage was clearly holding him up, along with the train of drivers behind him, and it was only a few laps before he was shown the black and orange flag to come in and change his front wing, but in that time Palmer built up a ten second cushion to nearest rival Chilton, with twenty laps remaining.

Chilton threw everything he had at the job, and the timesheets told the tale of his endeavours as he pulled the gap down to just one second at the chequered flag, but Palmer looked to have everything well under his control as he claimed the victory to applause all round the circuit.

Van der Garde had another strong race to take his second podium of the weekend, and his fourth consecutive top three finish, while Marcus Ericsson rounded out a great weekend for his iSport team by claiming fourth place.

Rodolfo Gonzalez held on against race long pressure from Luiz Razia for fifth, with the Brazilian claiming the fastest lap on his last trip round in sixth, while Nathanael Berthon and Esteban Gutierrez closed out the final points positions.

In the championship Valsecchi sails on in the lead despite his dramas today on 141 points, with Luiz Razia closing the gap on 110, while van der Garde moves up to third on 85 points ahead of Chilton on 79, Calado on 75, and Gutierrez on 60 points.

In the teams' title run DAMS stays out in from Lotus GP 169 points to 135, with Arden on 111, Carlin on 95 and Caterham moving up to 91 points ahead of the Valencia weekend in three weeks time.

2012 GP2 Monaco – Sprint Race results:
Pos. Driver Team
1. Jolyon Palmer iSport International
2. Max Chilton Carlin
3. Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing
4. Marcus Ericsson iSport International
5. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing
6. Luiz Razia Arden International
7. Nathanaël Berthon Racing Engineering
8. Esteban Gutiérrez Lotus GP
9. Simon Trummer Arden International
10. Josef Kral Barwa Addax Team
11. Rio Haryanto Carlin
12. Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology
NC. James Calado Lotus GP
NC. Julian Leal Trident Racing
NC. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering
NC. Stéphane Richelmi Trident Racing
NC. Davide Valsecchi DAMS
NC. Johnny Cecotto Barwa Addax Team
NC. Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni
NC. Tom Dillmann Rapax
NC. Victor Guerin Ocean Racing Technology
NC. Felipe Nasr DAMS
NC. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax
NC. Giancarlo Serenelli Venezuela GP Lazarus
NC. Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni

Fastest lap: Luiz Razia (Arden International) - 1'22.223 on lap 30


Informing those in the know who want to know even more
Dedicated to: Rudolf Ray +++ 14 April 2002 to 7 September 2007 +++
Stelios Avgerinos +++ 23 November 1931 to 4 February 2014 +++