Home NEWS by SERIES F1 F1 : Six in a row ROC Nations titles for Formula 1 champions Schumacher and Vettel
F1 : Six in a row ROC Nations titles for Formula 1 champions Schumacher and Vettel E-mail
Saturday, 15 December 2012 17:45
With ten Formula One drivers' titles between them, Team Germany's Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel added to their incredible run of success by winning their sixth consecutive ROC Nations Cup title in Bangkok.

On another hot evening in the Thai capital, legends from many of the world's biggest motor sport series teamed up in pairs to battle for national pride.

They raced a mix of cars, including the Audi R8 LMS, VW Scirocco, Lamborghini Gallardo Super Trofeo and the Toyota GT86, on a purpose built parallel track at the Rajamangala Stadium.

To cap off a busy night of action, Schumacher and Vettel prevailed in the Grand Final against Team France's Sebastien Ogier and Romain Grosjean. First Schumacher defeated Grosjean then Vettel defeated rally ace Ogier in the 'battle of the Sebs'.

The result meant that the German duo took an incredible ten wins out of ten on the night, matching their combined total of Formula 1 world titles. They have now extended their record of ROC Nations Cup titles to six in a row.

In the semi-finals Team Germany beat Team Australia's Jamie Whincup and Mick Doohan by two heats to nil. Team France defeated Team All Stars (Le Mans legend Tom Kristensen and MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo) by the same margin.

Team Germany had earlier sailed through their Group B with six wins out of six. Team Australia joined them in the semi-finals with three victories, two for Whincup, one for Doohan.

Following their triumph in yesterday's ROC Asia, Team India's Narain Karthikeyan and Karun Chandhok failed to make it beyond the group stages this time. They took a win apiece but it wasn't enough against the might of Germany and Australia.

Host nation Team Thailand (Nattavude Charoensukawattana and Tin Sritrai) fought hard but they were unable to progress beyond the group stages. Sritrai nonetheless gave the home fans something to cheer with victory over Doohan.

Earlier in the evening, Team France (four wins) and Team All Stars (three wins) both progressed through the round robin Group A to line up a best of three semi-final.

Lorenzo memorably proved his two wheeled skill extends to four wheels by defeating touring car great Andy Priaulx in one of the heats.

Team Americas were unlucky to miss out on qualification on count-back of fastest times as they also ended up with three wins courtesy of Benito Guerra (2) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (1).

Team Great Britain (Priaulx and David Coulthard) missed a semi-final spot after both fell foul of penalties for touching the barriers, though they still took one win each.

There is plenty more action to come in Bangkok on Sunday as the drivers will put their friendships aside and go it alone in the individual Race of Champions.

Coverage of Sunday's finale will be available on television all over the world. Stations broadcasting ROC live include SAT1 in Germany, Motors TV around Europe, Al Jazeera in the Middle East, Fox in Latin America and Brazil, Speed TV in Australia, the Sony Entertainment Network in India, PPTV and Euro Soccer channel in China and Supersport in Africa.

Check local listings for exact details of broadcast times.

Race Of Champions Draw (Sunday December 16)
Group A
Sebastien OGIER, WRC star and reigning ROC 'Champion of Champions' Jamie WHINCUP, V8 Supercar Champion 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008 David COULTHARD, 13 Formula 1 Grands Prix victories Benito GUERRA, Production World Rally Champion 2012

Group B
Tom KRISTENSEN, eight time Le Mans 24 Hour race winner Andy PRIAULX, three time World Touring Car Champion Ho-Pin TUNG, fastest qualifier from ROC Asia Nattavude CHAROENSUKAWATTANA, winner of ROC Thailand

Group C
Sebastian VETTEL, Formula 1 World Champion 2012, 2011, 2010 Jorge LORENZO, MotoGP World Champion 2012, 2010 Mick DOOHAN, five time 500cc MotoGP World Champion Tin SRITRAI, runner up from ROC Thailand

Group D
Michael SCHUMACHER, seven time Formula 1 World Champion Ryan HUNTER-REAY, IndyCar Series Champion 2012 Kazuya OHSHIMA, second fastest qualifier from ROC Asia Romain GROSJEAN, three Formula 1 podiums in 2012

Informing those in the know who want to know even more
Dedicated to: Rudolf Ray +++ 14 April 2002 to 7 September 2007 +++
Stelios Avgerinos +++ 23 November 1931 to 4 February 2014 +++